With summer nearly here, it means Americans will soon celebrate their next federal holiday, Memorial Day.

On Monday May 29, those living in the US will observe Memorial Day, which falls on the last Monday of May each year and honours the men and women who died while serving in the US military.

The holiday, which was originally known as Decoration Day, originated after the Civil War, before becoming an official federal holiday in 1971.

First introduced by Congress in 1885 when it was decided that federal employees should have certain days off from work, the list of US federal holidays is made up of 11 days of significance that Americans recognise – and celebrate.

To ensure that these holidays are observed, certain guidelines have been put in place, with federal holidays that fall on a Saturday observed by federal employees on the previous Friday, while holidays that fall on Sunday are observed the following Monday.

On these 11 days, all non-essential federal offices are closed, while banks, post offices and schools may also be closed. However, that doesn’t mean that all Americans will receive a day off from work, as employees in the private sector may or may not get the day off, depending on their employer.

From Memorial Day to Thanksgiving, these are the dates of the 2023 federal holidays.

2023 federal holidays:

New Year’s Day: Sunday, January 1 (Observed Monday, January 2)

Martin Luther King Jr Day: Monday, January 16

Presidents’ Day: Monday, February 20

Memorial Day: Monday, May 29

Juneteenth: Friday, June 16

Independence Day: Tuesday, July 4

Labor Day: Monday, September 4

Indigenous Peoples’ Day (also observed as Columbus Day): Monday, October 9

Veterans’ Day: Saturday, November 11 (Observed Friday, November 10)

Thanksgiving: Thursday, November 23

Christmas: Monday, December 25

Other important days to note:

Valentine’s Day: Tuesday, February 14

St Patrick’s Day: Friday, March 17

Passover: Thursday, April 6

Good Friday: Friday, April 7

Easter: Sunday, April 9

Mother’s Day: Sunday, May 14

Father’s Day: Sunday, June 18



Source link

Previous articleमुंबई के सर्राफा बाजार में रौनक, क्या 2000 के नोटों से सोना खरीदने पहुंच रहे लोग? जानें
Next articleBlinken warns rival Sudanese generals to respect cease-fire or face possible sanctions

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here